Use Board Group Permissions & Board Permissions to share a Board Group or Board with another Group in Guru without giving them access to the entire Collection.


❗Important

You must have Collection Owner permission in the Collection that the Board Group or Board lives to set up Board Group Permissions & Board Permissions. Read more about Guru permissions here.


Setting up Board Group Permissions

  1. Open the Collection you want to share the content from. For example, if you want to share a "Support Tools and General Troubleshooting" Board Group that lives in the Technical Support Collection, click on that Collection and Board Group.

  2. Click on the three ellipses near the Board Group title and select Edit Permissions.

  3. When you select Edit Permissions, you will see the Groups that have access to the Board Group because they’re members of the Collection. You will also see Groups that have been given access to this specific Board Group through Board Group Sharing.

  4. To give additional Groups access to this Board Group, choose a Group from the drop down menu and select Add. You will be able to choose from any Group in Guru.

5. Once you have added a Group or set of Groups to this Board Group, it will appear in the Groups Added to section of the screen.


Setting up Board Permissions

1. Open the Collection you want to share the content from and select the Board you'd like to permission.

2. Click on the three ellipses near the Board Title and select Edit Permissions.

3. When you select Edit Board Permissions, you will see the Groups that have access to the Board because they’re members of the Collection. You will also see Groups that have been given access to this specific Board through Board Sharing.

4. To give additional Groups access to this Board, choose a Group from the drop down menu and select Add. You will be able to choose from any Group in Guru:

5. Once you have added a Group or set of Groups to this Board, it will appear in the Groups Added to section of the screen.


💡 Tip

You can only give Groups Read Only access to a Board Group or Board via Board Group & Board Permissions at this time.


Viewing Cards via Board Group Permissions & Board Permissions

1. The new Group(s) that you just gave Board Group or Board access will be able to view the Board in the Collections with the "shared" icon.

2. When a user clicks into the Collection with the Board they have been given access to, they will see only that Board. If you give them access to multiple Boards within the same Collection, those Boards will also appear. If a user has been given access through Board Group permissions, they will be able to access every Board, section and Card within the Board Group.


🏡 Check this out in the Guru Community!

You can share your support for a feature enhancement to include Author access in Board Permissions with our Product Team by upvoting the Guru Community post Board Level Editing/Authoring Permissions.


Did this answer your question?