It's easy to reorganize knowledge in Guru by moving Boards and Cards to different Collections. Guru uses unique identifiers within every Collection, Board, and Card URL so that you'll always be able to navigate to the content you've linked out to or bookmarked, regardless of changes to its name or title and even after the content moves to a different Collection. To ensure continuity of access, we recommend reviewing Collection permissions and Group membership before making any Board or Card moves.


💡 Tip

After moving Cards and deleting a Board or Collection, you will no longer see that Board or Collection as an option to filter by in your team's Analytics dashboard. Consider downloading Analytics before deleting a Board or Collection.


Moving an existing Board into a different Collection

All Cards on the Board will be moved to the Collection you choose, with the Board's structure remaining intact. Anyone without access to the Collection to which you moved the Board will no longer be able to access the Cards or the Board. If you don't want to give teammates access to the whole Collection, see Board Group and Board permissions.

1. From the Collections page, select the Collection where the Board you want to move currently exists.

2. Click the title of the Board you'd like to move. To move a Board, you must be an Author or Collection Owner in both the original Collection (where the Board currently resides) as well as the Board's destination Collection.

3. Click the ellipsis to the right of the Board title and select Move to another Collection.

4. In the modal that pops up, find or type the name of the Collection to which you would like to move the Board. You can choose from Collections where you have Author access.

5. Click Move Board.


Moving Cards to a different Collection

Cards can be moved, in bulk and individually, to another Collection using Card Manager. Any Cards moved via the Card Manager will need to be restructured on Boards in their new Collection. Cards cannot live in multiple Collections.


❗Important

You must be an Author or Collection Owner to view the Card Manager. Authors can only perform bulk actions within the Collections that they have Author access to. An "unable to perform action" message will appear if you do not have the appropriate permission. Check here to see if you are a member of a Group with Author access to a Collection and, if not, contact your team's Admin to update your permissions.


1. Navigate to the Card Manager.


2. Here, you will see all the Cards your team has created along with certain key attributes about each one. Filter to find the Cards you'd like to act on.


3. Select the Card you'd like to move by clicking on the checkbox located to the left of its title. To select all Cards, check the box next to 'Card Title' and click the Move to Collection icon.

Move Cards to a different Collection via the Card Manager

4. Select the Collection you would like the Cards moved to and click Save Changes.

5. Your Card now lives in the destination Collection. Any Groups without permission to the destination Collection to which you moved the Card will no longer be able to access it. You will need to modify Collection permissions or apply Board Group or Board permissions to grant the Group access.


✍️ Note

If the Card's Verifier does not have access to the new Collection where you're moving it, you as the Admin user will become the default Verifier of this Card after you move it to the destination Collection.


Did this answer your question?