A Guru Knowledge Sync will populate sourced content into a Read Only Collection within Guru. Enable verification of your synced content to ensure that your team knows that this synced knowledge is verified by your subject matter experts in Guru.


❗Important

Only users with Admin permissions can set up a Knowledge Sync.


πŸŽ“ Are you a new Guru Admin? View this in the Guru Academy.


Use this table to find the instructions to set up content syncs with the following tools:

Content Source

Guru can sync internal content from the source

Guru can sync external content at the source

Notes

Zendesk: Knowledge Sync

βœ“

βœ“

Guru will sync all articles that are published, regardless of who "Visible to" is set to. Any private or draft articles will not sync into Guru.

Confluence: Knowledge Sync

βœ“

Guru can only sync from Confluence Cloud.

Guru will sync over the entire Confluence Space.

Salesforce Knowledge: Knowledge Sync

βœ“

Any private, drafted or archived content will NOT be synced in Guru.


Frequently asked questions about syncs:

How does a Knowledge Sync work?

  • Guru syncs all public-facing content from the external source.

  • Any private content or drafted content will NOT be synced in Guru.

  • UPDATES - Guru only updates articles that have been modified, added, or removed between syncs.

  • DELETIONS - The sync process will automatically remove any content from Guru that is no longer in the external content source.

  • Synced Cards will include an external URL to the corresponding page of the source.

  • You can verify synced content by following these instructions.

  • You can tag synced content by following ​these instructions.

  • Synced Collections must have a Collection Owner Group.

How often does Knowledge Sync run?

  • Guru syncs with the external source about every four hours.


☎️ Contact us

If you're noticing that this is taking longer, please contact our Support Team at support@getguru.com. We can work with you to sort out the issue.


How are synced Cards different from other Guru Cards?

Cards that are within a synced collection will look like regular Guru cards and are accessible from the browser extension, web application, and Slack bot. However, there are some notable differences:

  • All content in synced Collections is Read Only.

  • Board Groups and Boards within a synced Collection cannot be edited within Guru.

  • Synced Cards can have a verified status if you choose to enable this feature. Read more about verifying Synced Content.

  • Synced Cards cannot be archived within Guru.

  • Synced Cards will not have any privacy or sharing features at the Card level. Permissions can be set at the Collection level.

  • Synced Cards cannot be made public via Public Cards.

Guru Knowledge Sync Example Card.

In this example Guru card, you will notice a few differences from a normal Card:

  • The orange πŸ”„ icon indicates this is a synced Card.

  • When this icon is green, this indicates this is a synced Card with verification enabled AND the Card is verified.

  • When this icon is red, this indicates this is a Synced Card with verification enabled AND the Card is not verified.

  • The side panel provides easy access to the URL of the corresponding external page, the Copy Card button, the Copy Card link button, comments, and Card usage analytics.

How do tags work on synced content?

  • Tags on synced content work just the same as on regular Cards! Just make sure the synced Collection has a Group assigned as the Collection Owner - this will assure any Groups that are Collection Owners or Authors will be able to add tags.

How do comments work on synced content?

  • Users can comment on the synced Cards that live in Guru just like they would with non-synced Cards. These comments will not carry over to the host source.

Can I enable Content Performance on a synced Collection?

Yes. Content Performance can be enabled for a synced Collection. Learn more about Content Performance. You'd only want to enable Content Performance if you were externally sharing assets or links that live inside synced cards.

How can I deleted a synced Collection?

To delete a synced Collection, navigate to Team Settings > Apps and Integrations > Knowledge Syncs. Locate the sync you'd like to delete and then click the trash can icon to the right. After clicking, the Collection and all of its Boards and Cards will immediately be deleted.

If you have a synced Collection that you'd like to convert into a regular Collection that can be edited, reach out to support@getguru.com for further assistance.


☎️ Contact us

Please reach out to support@getguru.com to enable Content Performance for your synced content.


Did this answer your question?