Announcements allow users to notify their team of new or existing knowledge they need to read and certify that they've done so. Announcement senders and recipients can see analytics on who has confirmed reading the Card and who has not.


❗Important

Announcements are only available for teams on the Builder, Expert, or Enterprise editions of Guru.


Assigning an announcement

From a Card

1. Open the Card you would like to assign an announcement in either the web app or browser extension.

2. Click the three ellipses "..." along the left-hand side of the Card and select "Send an announcement".

3. You will then be prompted to choose the Groups and/or individuals that you want to assign the Card to. If you would like, you can also add a note alongside the announcement (this is optional).

4. Click Send.

5. Recipients will receive a notification (via email or Slack if opted into) and will receive an alert within Guru's web app and extension to read this Card.

From Tasks

1. From the left-hand navigation panel, select Tasks and then Announcements.

2. You can send an announcement by clicking on Send announcement in the top right corner of the page.


❗Important

You can only send announcements on Cards that you have Author access to.


Scheduling Announcements

1. Next to the Send button, click the ⬇️ arrow.

2. Select the desired time you'd like the announcement to be sent. If none of the suggested times work, select Custom time to get more granular with the date and time you'd like the announcement sent.


✍️ Note

The time zones listed are based on the time zone you are currently in.



3. The sender will be able to view a reminder that the announcement has been scheduled to send in the right-hand navigation bar of the Card.


💡 Tip
If you want to edit a scheduled announcement before it's sent, you can delete and re-schedule it.


Who can receive announcements

The following Groups and individuals can receive announcements:

  • Groups who have access to view the Collection in which the Card lives.

  • Individual users who are part of a Group that has Collection level access.

  • If the "All Members" Group has access to the Collection:

    • Individual users who are part of the "All Members" Group.

    • Any Group on your Guru team.

  • For a Restricted Card, those users who have access to view the Card.


How to see who viewed your announcement

The sender of an announcement will get a notification in Slack, Microsoft Teams, or email as soon as the Card is certified Read the first time.

Additionally, all users who received the announcement can view the open/read rate analytics by clicking on x% read it under the announcement info in the Card comments section.

From there, all recipients can also export the data by clicking on Export Data. You can also do this under the Tasks > Announcements - Sent menu.


✍️ Note

The sender of the announcement will not receive the alert but will be automatically factored into the open/read rate analytics if they are a member of the Group that they sent the announcement to.


Viewing historically sent announcements

1. From the left-hand navigation panel, select Tasks and then Announcements.

2. The Sent page should default to show all announcements that you have assigned to specific Groups or individual user(s).

You can view all announcements sent by clicking on the dropdown menu on your Sent page and switching the view to All Sent.


❗Important

When looking at the All Sent page you will only see announcements for Collections to which you have Author access on.


Reminding users of announcements

A follow-up reminder will automatically be sent to all recipients who have not confirmed they’ve read an announcement within 3 days after the announcement is sent.

If you want to manually send a reminder to read an announcement, you can do so from the Card itself or the Announcements - Sent page.

  • On the Card, navigate to the Comments tab, click the x% read it. From here you can view when the last reminder was sent, and who will receive upcoming reminders. You can also manually push another reminder if you choose.

  • On the Announcements - Sent page, hover over the far right-hand side of the announcement until the bell icon appears, and select Send a Reminder.


✍️ Note

Sending this reminder will only remind those users who haven’t read the announcement yet.


Sending multiple announcements for the same Card

When multiple announcements are sent for the same Card, the sender will see every single request they've sent logged in the Announcements - Sent page. The user will see these announcements grouped together as one listing and will only need to certify it read once.

Deleting an announcement

If you want to remove an announcement that you have delegated, you can do so from the Card itself or the Announcements - Sent page.

  • On the Card, navigate to the Comments tab, click the ellipses next to the announcement, then click Delete announcement.

  • On the Announcements - Sent page, hover over the far right-hand side of the announcement until the trash can icon appears, and select Delete announcement.


✍️ Note

Deleting an announcement will also remove any comments threaded under the announcement post.


Removing an announcement from the dashboard

  1. Delete the announcement: Ask the original sender of an announcement to delete the announcement by hovering over the far right-hand side of the announcement until the trash can icon, and selecting Delete announcement.

  2. Archive the Card: If the original sender is no longer with your company, you can Archive the Card (it will still be accessible in the Card Manager under "Archived", but not via search).


Frequently Asked Questions

I don't see a Group I want to send an announcement to in the dropdown. What do I do?

When assigning a Group to an announcement, the only Groups that will show up as options on a Card are Groups that have access to that Card's Collection.

So, if you're not seeing a specific Group as an option in the list, make sure that Group has permission to that Collection. Alternatively, you can give the All Members Group access to the Collection.

I don’t see an individual user I want to send announcements to in the dropdown. What do I do?

When assigning specific users to announcements, the only users that will show up as an option on a card are those who belong to Groups that have access to that Card’s Collection.

The solution would be to permit a Group the user belongs to access to the Collection, or, add the user to a Group that has already been given permission to the Collection. Alternatively, you can give the All Members Group access to the Collection.

Do new team members see existing or historical announcements?

No. At the time the announcement is generated, Guru determines all of the users that will receive it. Adding users to the Group after the fact won't add them to the announcement recipient Group retroactively.

However, an Author of a Collection will be able to view all announcements sent by navigating to All Sent within the Announcements - Sent page.

How will users be notified of announcements that they're meant to read?

Users will see up to their 3 most recently received announcements highlighted on their Guru dashboard when they log in. The announcement will include a banner indicating an announcement is new until the user verifies they've read it.

Users who prefer Guru notifications by email will receive an email notifying them of announcements to read. Those who prefer to receive Guru notifications via Slack or Microsoft Teams will receive a DM letting them know an announcement has been assigned to them.

How do I control the featured image for my announcement appearing on the dashboard?

Add an image larger than 140 x 210px to your Card to have it featured when the Card is sent as a company-wide announcement. The first image in the Card will be the featured image.

If you want to change the featured image, you can edit the Card itself and remove or swap out the image (or add another image further up in the card), and the dashboard image will be updated.

I sent an announcement and never received an alert. What happened?

When you send an announcement, you will not receive an alert, even if you are a member of the Group you sent it to, but you will still be factored into the analytics.

Lookout for the notification sharing that the Card was read for the first time as an indication that the announcement was sent successfully.


💡 Tip

Learn more about how other teams and Guru use announcements here!


🎓 View this in the Guru Academy

Check out our Internal Communications Course in the Guru Academy.


🏡 Check this out in the Guru Community!

You can share your support for feature enhancements related to announcements with our Product team by upvoting relevant Community posts.

Did this answer your question?