Sometimes information is no longer applicable or needed in Guru. Archiving a card will remove it from regular search, but it retains the ability to be restored. Permanently deleting a card will remove it from Guru completely.
The Admin and Author roles are required to archive and permanently delete Cards.
Archiving a Card
- Open the Card you wish to archive.
- Click the ellipsis on the left side of the Card.
- Select Archive and click to confirm the action. Once a Card is archived it no longer appears in search results and if it is included in Knowledge Triggers or Pins it will display archived at the top.
Archive Cards that are redundant, out-dated or not relevant so that there is no confusion over what content your team should be using!
Unarchiving and Restoring a Card
- Go to the Guru web app and select Card Manager in the top navigation bar.
- Select the Archive tab next to Cards and Questions.
- Select the Card(s) you want to unarchive by clicking in the checkbox(es) to the left of the Card title.
- Restore the Card(s) by selecting the Unarchive icon in the top bar, located next to the trash can icon.
Permanently Deleting a Card
- In Card Manager, select the Archived tab next to Cards and Questions.
- Select the Card(s) you wish to permanently delete.
- Click the Trash Can icon in the top bar.
- Confirm your action to permanently delete the Card(s) from Guru.
Frequently Asked Questions about Archiving Cards
Can I see the name of the user who archived a Card?
Yes! You can see who archived a Card and when it was done by clicking the Displayed Attributes icon (3 horizontal rectangles), then selecting Last Modified By and Last Modified:
Can I archive multiple Cards at Once?
If you'd like to archive multiple Cards at once, you can do so in the Card Manager with bulk actions. Learn about bulk actions here.
Can I archive a Board?
At this time Guru only offers the capability of archiving individual Cards on the Card or multiple Cards through Card Manager, not an entire Board.
When a Card is Archived, what data about the Card is saved?
When a user archives a Card, all data pertaining to Tags, the Verifier and content should stay the same.
Where will Cards go after they have been Unarchived and restored?
If the unarchived Cards were previously on a Board, they will NOT reappear on the Board where they once lived. They will appear in the 'Cards not on a Board' section underneath the Board/Board Groups of their former Collection.