Knowledge Sync: Overview

Roles: Admins, Authors, Read Only


The Guru Knowledge Sync feature enables Guru to extract content from an external source and populate that content into a Read-Only Collection within Guru. This way, Guru users can search both internal and external-facing content from one place.

Knowledge Sync FAQs

How does Knowledge Sync work?

  • Guru syncs all public-facing content from the external source

  • Any private content or drafted content will NOT be synced in Guru

  • UPDATES - Guru only updates articles that have been modified, added, or removed between syncs.

  • DELETIONS - The Sync process will automatically remove any content from Guru that is no longer in the external content source.

  • Synced Cards will include an external URL to the corresponding page of the source (see card design below)

  • You can verify Synced Content by following these instructions

  • You can tag Synced Content by following ​these instructions

  • Synced Collections must have a Collection Owner Group

How often does Knowledge Sync run?

  • Guru syncs with the external source about every four hours.

    • If you're noticing that this is taking longer, please contact our Support Team at support@getguru.com. We can work with you to sort out the issue.

How are Synced Cards different from Guru Cards?

Cards that are within a synced collection will look like regular Guru cards and are accessible from the browser extension, web application, and Slack bot. However, there are some notable differences:

  • All content in synced Collections are Read Only

  • Board Groups and Boards within a synced Collection cannot be edited within Guru

  • Synced Cards can have a Trust Status if you choose to enable this feature. Read more about verifying Synced Content here.

  • Synced Cards cannot be archived within Guru

  • Synced Cards will not have any privacy or sharing features at the Card level. Permissions can be set at the Collection level following these instructions

  • Synced Cards cannot be made public via Public Cards

Screen Shot 2020-01-29 at 2.28.48 PM.png

In this example Guru card, you will notice a few differences from a normal Card:

  • The orange icon indicates this is a Synced Card

  • When this icon is green, this indicates this is a Synced Card with Verification enabled AND the Card is Trusted

  • When this icon is red, this indicates this is a Synced Card with Verification enabled AND the Card is Untrusted

  • The side panel provides easy access to the URL of the corresponding external page, the “Copy Card” button, the “Copy Card link” button, comments, and Card Usage Analytics.

How do Tags work on Synced Content?

  • Tags on Synced content work just the same as on regular Cards! Just make sure the Synced Collection has a Group assigned as the Collection Owner - this will assure any Groups that are Collection Owners or Authors will be able to add tags.

Can I enable Content Performance on a synced collection?

  • Yes. Content Performance can be enabled for a synced Collection. Please reach out to support@getguru.com to enable this feature for your synced content. (Learn more about Content Performance.)

  • NOTE: You'd only want to enable Content Performance if you were externally sharing assets or links that live inside synced cards.

Click here for instructions to set up content syncs with the following tools: