Upgrading a user from Light to Core

As a Guru Admin, you'll be able to select team members to convert from a Light user to a Core user. Once a Core user, your team member can be added to custom groups and be given new permissions allowing them to view, edit, verify, and create content for your team.

To convert from Light User to Core User

  1. Navigate to the All Members tab with the Team Settings.

  2. To find the user you'd like to upgrade you can search by name or email OR use the sort view functionality to view only Light users.

  3. Once you've found the member of your team that you'd like to upgrade, use the more options button on the right-hand side to select Convert to Core user.

  4. Review the information presented in the confirmation modal and select Convert user.


    ✍️ Note

    Selecting to convert a user from a Light user to Core user will immediately impact your total # of billable users and you will be charged accordingly based on your plan rate and terms.


  5. Once converted, you'll be able to add these Core users to new groups and assign them additional role permissions through the All Members, Groups, and Collections, Admins tabs in team settings.


💡 Tip

If a user is a Light User, they’ll have a blue Light user indicator next to their name on the All Members page. This is a great way to quickly identify which users are eligible to be upgraded to a core user.


Converting a user from Core to Light

As a Guru Admin, you'll be able to select team members to convert from a Core user to a Light user. Once a Light user, the team member will be automatically removed from any groups they were previously assigned, and their permissions will automatically update to match that of Light users on their team (all member access only & read-only capacity).

To convert from Core User to Light User

  1. Navigate to the All Members tab with the Team Settings.

  2. To find the user you'd like to upgrade you can search by name or email OR use the sort view functionality to view only Core users.

  3. Once you've found the member of your team that you'd like to convert to Light, use the more options button on the right-hand side to select Convert to Light user.

Review the information presented in the confirmation modal and select Convert user.


✍️ Note

If you are managing your Light Users via SCIM (which is available through Okta) you can only manage the conversion of Light Users/Core Users in Okta, not on the Team Settings page.


📑 Related articles


Did this answer your question?