Knowledge Alerts allow users to notify their team of new or existing knowledge they need to read and certify that they've done so. Knowledge Alert senders can see analytics on who has confirmed reading an alert and who has not


💡 Tip

Learn more about how other teams and Guru use Knowledge Alerts here!


❗Important

You can only send Knowledge Alerts on Cards that you have Author access to.


Creating a Knowledge Alert

You can assign a Knowledge Alert in two ways: directly on the Card itself or via My Tasks.

Assigning a Knowledge Alert from the Card View

1. Open the Card you would like to assign a Knowledge Alert in either the web app or browser extension.

2. Click the three ellipses "..." along the left-hand side of the Card and select "Send a Knowledge Alert".

Send a Knowledge Alert

3. You will then be prompted to assign the Card to a particular Group(s) or an individual user(s).

4. If you would like, you can also add a note alongside the Alert (this is optional). Click Send Alert.


💡 Tip

You can send a Knowledge Alert from a Private Card to those users who have access to view the Card.


Who can receive Knowledge Alerts

The following Groups and individuals can receive Knowledge Alerts

  • Groups who have access to view the Collection in which the Card lives

  • Individual Core users who are part of a Group that has Collection level access

  • Individual Core users who are part of the All Members Group (if the All Members Group has access to the Collection)


✍️ Note:

If the All Members Group has access to a Collection, any Group in your instance can be a recipient of the Knowledge Alert (rather than sending to All Members)


Assigning a Knowledge Alert from My Tasks

  1. From the home Dashboard, select My Tasks and then Knowledge Alerts

  2. Here, you can see your Inbox and Sent Knowledge Alerts.

  • The Inbox page defaults to showing Unread Knowledge Alerts that you have been assigned. You can view all previously read Knowledge Alerts by clicking on the dropdown menu in your Inbox page and switching the view to Read.

  • The Sent page defaults to showing all Knowledge Alerts that you have assigned to specific Groups or individual user(s). You can view all Knowledge Alerts sent by Authors by clicking on the dropdown menu in your Sent page and switching the view to All Sent.


❗Important

When looking at the All Sent page you will only see Knowledge Alerts for Collections to which you have Author access on


3. Click Send a Knowledge Alert in the upper right corner of either the Inbox or Delegated page to Create a Knowledge Alert:

4. You will be prompted to choose a Card, from here you can assign it to a Group, multiple Groups, individual users, and add a Note (optional).


Reminding Users of Knowledge Alert(s)

If the individual user or members of the Group(s) you sent a Knowledge Alert haven’t viewed it yet, you can Send a Reminder. To do so, hover over the far right-hand side of the Knowledge Alert until the "bell" icon, and select Send a Reminder.

Send a reminder for a Knowledge Alert

✍️ Note

Sending this reminder will only remind those users who haven’t read the Knowledge Alert yet.


Sending multiple Knowledge Alerts for the same Card

When multiple Knowledge Alerts are sent for the same Card, the sender will see every single request they've sent logged in the Knowledge Alerts - Sent list.

The recipient of multiple Knowledge Alerts for the same Card will see a single Card in the Knowledge Alerts - Inbox. If the # requests in the "From" column for the Card is greater than one, it indicates more than one request was sent for the same Card.

When clicking the # requests field or when viewing the Card itself, the recipient can see the dates each Knowledge Alert was sent, the first and last name of the user who sent each Knowledge Alert, and the text the sender wrote for each individual Knowledge Alert requested for that individual Card. The recipient will see a single I Read It button and clicking it will make the Knowledge Alert disappear from their Knowledge Alerts - Unread Inbox

Deleting a Knowledge Alert

If you want to remove a Knowledge Alert that you have delegated, hover over the far right-hand side of the Knowledge Alert until the trash can icon, and select Delete Knowledge Alert.

Review Knowledge Alerts Assigned to You

Knowledge Alert Inbox:

When a Knowledge Alert has been assigned to you, you’ll get a notification to read the Card.

You can view all of these Knowledge Alerts in the Inbox of My Tasks. Here, you’ll be able to view the sender of the Knowledge Alert, the date it was sent, and any associated notes

  1. Click on the Card Title in the Inbox to view the Card.

  2. Within the Card, select the I Read It button and the Knowledge Alert will disappear from your Unread Inbox, it will, however, still be viewable in your Read Inbox.

Exporting Knowledge Alert Data

You can export your data on a specific Knowledge Alert to see which users have read or have not read the Card.

  1. Navigate to My Tasks > Knowledge Alerts.

  2. Select the Sent tab.

  3. Click on the Knowledge Alert in question, and click on the Send spreadsheet via email arrow button under Reader Analytics.

Frequently Asked Questions

I don't see a Group I want to send Knowledge Alerts in the dropdown. What do I do?

When assigning a Group to a Knowledge Alert, the only Groups that will show up as options on a Card are Groups that have access to that Card's Collection. So, if you're not seeing a specific Group as an option in the list, make sure that Group has access to that Collection. Alternatively, you can give the All Members Group access to the Collection.

I don’t see an individual user I want to send Knowledge Alerts in the dropdown. What do I do?

When assigning specific users to a Knowledge Alert, the only users that will show up as an option on a card are those who belong to Groups that have access to that Card’s Collection. The solution would be to assign the Group the user belongs to access, alternatively you can give the All Members Group access to the Collection.

What will the Knowledge Alert look like?

Web App View: When a Knowledge Alert has been sent, all members of the Group(s) will see a highlighted alert in the left column of their main Dashboard showing the total number of Knowledge Alerts they have to read. This total number is also under the My Tasks panel.

Knowlede Alert web app view

Extension View: When a Knowledge Alert has been assigned to a Group to view, all members of the Group(s) will see a banner across the top of their extension alerting them of the number of Knowledge Alerts they have to read.

Card View: When a Knowledge Alert has been sent, all members of the recipient Group(s) and individual users will see a banner across the top of the Knowledge Alert displaying who asked them to read it and the associated notes.

Knowledge Alerts Cards View

When Group Members select I Read It the data will be reflected in the Knowledge Alerts section of My Tasks under the Sent Page.

Do new team members see existing or historical Knowledge Alerts?

No. At the time the Knowledge Alert is generated, Guru determines all of the users that will receive it. Adding users to the Group after the fact won't add them to the Knowledge Alert recipient Group retroactively.

Do new Authors see existing and historical Knowledge Alerts?

If a user is newly made an Author on a Collection they will be able to view all Knowledge Alerts sent by navigating to the All Sent page of their Knowledge Alerts Sent box.

How will users be notified of Knowledge Alerts that they're meant to read?

Users who receive email notifications from Guru will get emails notifying them of Knowledge Alerts to read. Those who receive Guru notifications via Slack will get a Slack DM letting them know a Knowledge Alert has been assigned to them.


🎓 View this in the Guru Academy

Check out our Internal Communications Course in the Guru Academy.


🏡Check this out in the Guru Community!

You can share your support for feature enhancements related to Knowledge Alerts with our Product team by upvoting the Guru Community post More Knowledge Alert Analytics or Ability to schedule when Knowledge Alerts will be sent.

Did this answer your question?