Creating and Editing Cards

Roles: Authors


Cards are the fundamental unit of knowledge in Guru. All of your team's content is stored in Cards; they are optimized for easy search and access to your team. Unlike long documents that make locating specific information difficult, Cards display bite-sized content, allowing you to perform one search and find the exact answer you're looking for.

How to Create a Card

  1. To create a Card, press the + button found in the extension and/or web app. (Click here to learn how to create Cards in Slack or here to learn how to create Cards directly on a Board in the web app).

  2. Enter a title where the cursor is flashing. An effective Card title acts as a brief descriptor for the main content, and reflects how your team would search for that content.

  3. Below the title, go ahead and start writing or copying content for the Card's body. You can reference our article on formatting to style your Card so it's even easier for your team to quickly scan and understand. Although the Content Editor can is capable of hosting much more, we recommend that Cards remain less than 1,000 words in length, as brevity enables your team to digest information on the fly.

  4. If you would like to include an asset, you can upload or link any applicable file by dragging it onto the Card, or by selecting the file type from the menu.

  • We recommend only linking to external assets - all process information should be stored directly in Guru, so your team can access it as an overlay of their work. More information on when to upload assets is here.

5. When done writing and styling your Card’s body, click 'Next'.

6. Select the Collection that correlates to the Card's content and the Groups that need to access it. You can only choose Collections in which you are an author.

7. The Collection determines who can access the content, and it providesinformation for your team on the type of content in the Card. For example, Cards containing Product FAQs should go into the Product FAQ Collection, where Sales and Support can access them.

8. Choose the applicable Board(s) and Tag(s) for the Card. Boards allow you to maintain a visual organization of your content and offer a curated experience for your team.

9. Determine the verifier and verification timeline.

  • The verifier is the subject matter expert(s) responsible for keeping the content up to date and accurate. You can choose the Card's verifier from the Groups (and members of those Groups) that have Author status in the designated Collection.

  • The verification timeline determines how frequently you will be asked to update the content. Choose the timeline by which that content typically needs to be checked for accuracy.

10. Select the Card's Privacy/Sharing setup. Sharing applies to any uploaded files and defines with whom your team can share it.'Team' indicates that only your team can access the Card.

  • If ‘Team’ is selected under Card Access, anyone on your team with access to the Collection will be able to see this Card.

  • 'Just Me' indicates that only those individuals explicitly shared on the Card can access it. Because they contain sensitive information, these private Cards cannot be added to Boards.

  • We recommend selecting "File Access" for Cards that host files you want to share with customers or other external entities. They won't be able to access the Card's body content without an authenticated team login, but they will be able to view any hosted file links on the Cards.

11. Click 'Save and Verify'. Now your content is trusted, saved and your team can easily find and utilize the information. If you want to edit the Card later, open it and click the pencil icon.

Note: If you exit the Card creation process at any time before clicking 'Save', you can still access a recovered version from when it last autosaved. Learn more about recovering your work here.

Saving an edited Card

  • After editing a Trusted Card, you can maintain the verification interval to it's existing cycle by selecting 'Save'. You can re-set the interval cycle by selecting 'Save and Verify'.

  • After editing an Untrusted Card, Guru provides the option to select 'Save'. This will save changes to the Card without verifying it so it remains Untrusted. You can also select 'Save & Verify', which will save the changes and update the Card's status to Trusted.