Utilizing Knowledge Alerts

Edition: Essential, Team, Enterprise
Role: Author


Knowledge Alerts allow users to notify their team of critical new or existing knowledge they need to read, and certify that they've actually done so -- all within the Guru workflow. This feature allows teams to call attention to important information while cutting through the noise of notifications.


Creating a Knowledge Alert

You can assign a Knowledge Alert in two ways, directly on the Card itself or via My Tasks.

Assign a KNOWLEDGE ALERT from the Card View

  1. Open the Card you would like to assign a Knowledge Alert in either the web app or browser extension.

  2. Click the three ellipses "..." along the left-hand side of the Card and select "Send a Knowledge Alert".

    Screen Shot 2019-05-10 at 1.54.56 PM.png

  3. You will then be promoted to assign the Card to a particular Guru user group.

    NOTE: You can only assign alerts to Groups, not to individual users.

  4. If you would like, you can also add a note alongside the Alert (this is optional). Click "Send."

    Screen Shot 2019-05-10 at 1.57.30 PM.png

Assign a Knowledge ALERT via My Tasks

  1. From your main Dashboard, in the My Tasks panel, click the number next to Knowledge Alerts.image.png

  2. You're now viewing Knowledge Alerts that were assigned to you
    Screen Shot 2019-05-10 at 2.31.25 PM.png

    1. The Inbox page displays all Knowledge Alerts that you have been assigned to read. You can view who assigned the Card to you, when the Card was assigned, and any associated notes.

    2. The Delegated page displays all Knowledge Alerts that you have assigned to specific Groups. You can view what group you assigned it to, what notes you attached to them, and how many users have read the Card.

      TIP: You can also delete the Knowledge Alert, send a reminder to the members of the Group who haven’t yet read the Card, and export the viewer data.

  3. Click “Send a Knowledge Alert” in the upper right corner of either the Inbox or Delegated page to Create a Knowledge Alert.
    Screen Shot 2019-05-10 at 2.02.05 PM.png

  4. You will be prompted to choose a Card, assign it to a Group (or multiple Groups), and add a Note (optional).

    1. NOTE: You can ONLY send a Knowledge Alert if you have Author permissions on that Card. Screen Shot 2019-05-10 at 2.03.44 PM.png

FAQ: What if the group I want to send the Knowledge Alert to is not in the available options?

When assigning a group to a Knowledge Alert, the only groups that will show up as options on a Card are groups that have explicit access to that Card's Collection.  So, if you're not seeing a specific group as an option in the list, make sure that group is added to the Collection's permissions.

What will the Knowledge Alert look like?

Web App View: When a Knowledge Alert has been assigned to a Group (or multiple Groups) to view, all members of the Group(s) will see a highlighted alert in the right column of their main Dashboard showing the total number of Knowledge Alerts they have to read. This total number is also under the My Tasks panel.

image.png

Extension View: When a Knowledge Alert has been assigned to a Group (or multiple Groups) to view, all members of the Group(s) will see a banner across the top of their extension alerting them of the number of Knowledge Alerts they have to read.

image.png

Card View: When a Knowledge Alert has been assigned to a Group (or multiple Groups) to view, all members of the Group(s) will see a banner across the top of the Knowledge Alert displaying who asked them to read it and the associated notes (if they were created with a note).

Screen Shot 2019-05-10 at 2.27.22 PM.png

When Group Members select “I Read It” the data will be reflected in the Knowledge Alerts section of My Tasks under the Delegated Page.

Screen Shot 2019-05-10 at 2.11.14 PM.png

Remind Users of Knowledge Alert(s)

If some of the members of the Group(s) you sent a Knowledge Alert haven’t viewed it yet, you can Send a Reminder. To do so, click on the three ellipses (“...”) displayed on the right-hand corner of the Knowledge Alert and select "Send a Reminder."
NOTE: This will only remind those Group members who haven’t yet Read it.

Screen Shot 2019-05-10 at 2.12.00 PM.png

Delete a Knowledge Alert

If you want to remove a Knowledge Alert, click the three ellipses (“...”) and select Delete Knowledge Alert in the More Options drop-down.

Review Knowledge Alerts Assigned to You

Inbox of Alerts:

When a Knowledge Alert has been assigned to you, you’ll get a notification to read the Card.

You can view all of these Knowledge Alerts in the Inbox of My Tasks.

  1. To view the Card click View (green box to the right of the Card note) you can view the Card.

  2. Click “I Read It” and the Knowledge will disappear from your Inbox.
    Screen Shot 2019-05-10 at 2.31.25 PM.png