Controlling Access to a Collection

Roles: Admins


Collections allow you to segment content within your team, meaning you can control who accesses what information and the role that they have within the Collections they access. With Collections Guru simply mirrors the ways you currently manage and share content.

To demonstrate how this could work think of a typical support team. Support managers have a private Collection that only they can access, in which they keep internal reviews and management information. They can also use this private Collection to draft content before sharing it out to the team. The managers also own the Support Collection, and all support reps have read-only access to the information. Because the product team manages product knowledge that's referenced by multiple teams, product FAQs are in their own Collection to which the support reps and managers are granted read-only access. With this set up everyone can search across all of the knowledge they need in one view. The steps on how to control Collections access are included below.

How to Add a Group to a Collection

  1. Navigate to the Team screen in the web app (app.getguru.com/#/team).
  2. Click the 'Collections' tab.
  3. Create a new Collection or find the Collection you would like to edit.
  4. Search for the Group(s) you would like to add in the 'Allow Access' section, press enter when the appropriate Group(s) is selected.

Screen Shot 2017-01-06 at 1.52.16 PM.png

  1. Click 'Allow Access' to add them to the Collection.
  • As a note, your users must be in the appropriate Group to access any net new Collections.
  1. Determine the permissions of the Group in the Collection. The steps to do this are listed below.

How to Enable and Remove Collections Access

  1. Navigate to the Team screen in the web app (app.getguru.com/#/team).
  2. Click the 'Collections' tab.
  3. Create a new Collection or find the Collection you would like to edit.
  4. Click the arrow next to the Group whose permissions you'd like to modify.
  • Select 'Make Read Only' or 'Make Author' to give the Group author or read only permissions in the Collection.
    • With Read Only permissions, members of the Group can view the content, comment, and ask questions, but they cannot edit Cards in the Collection or Create Cards and assign them to that Collection. For example, the Sales Managers would be read only in the Product Collection as they are not the experts on product content.
    • As Authors of the Collection, members of the Group can create Cards, answer questions and move content to that Collection. They can also set up Contexts for that Collection, view the Collections Analytics, and utilize the Card Manager to perform bulk actions on Cards in that Collection. For example, the Sales Managers would author the Sales Collection, so they can manage all of the content.
  • Select 'Remove' to remove the Group's access to the Collection entirely. With no access to the Collection, members of that Group cannot see any of its content. Only admins will be able to see that the Collection exists.

Screen Shot 2016-12-28 at 4.58.29 PM.png

  • Priority Search determines where Cards appear in the search results. Cards from Collections with Priority Search on will surface higher than Cards from Collections with Priority Search turned off. To turn priority search off or on, click the Priority Search box. The side the dot is closest to indicates whether it is on or off.
    • For example, HR content would have Priority Search off for the Sales Team and Priority Search on for the HR team, as they utilize that content frequently.

Screen Shot 2016-12-28 at 5.40.43 PM.png
Learn how teams utilize Collections here.